September 2018 Minutes

Lewiston Democratic Party

City Committee Meeting Minutes for September 12th, 2018

  1. Call to Order

  2. Pledge of Allegiance

  3. Pass the Hat Fundraising

  4. Secretary's Report

    1. Motion to approve the minutes from August: Chris Beam

    2. 2nd: Margaret Craven

    3. Passes

  5. Treasurer's Report: Balance $175,275.89

    1. Motion to file August report for audit: Richard Grandmaison

    2. 2nd: Margaret Craven

    3. Passes

  6. Chair's Report

    1. Update from legislators: None present

    2. Update from Commissions: None present

    3. Update from City Council: None present

    4. Update from School Committee: None Present

    5. Update from State Committee: Upcoming meeting on September 16th

    6. Update from County Committee: Selected a candidate for County Commission District 6, made financial outlays of $100 to the M&M Dems, Andy Robinson for DA, and the CC6 candidate.

    7. Coordinated Campaign update: Always in need of new volunteers. Safiya signs up several committee members.

  7. Old Business

  8. New Business

    1. Chris Hodgkins resigns role as Treasurer

    2. Nominations to fill the role of Treasurer for the LDCC

      1. Owen Cardwell Copenhefer Nominated by John Sinclair

      2. Motion that the Secretary cast one ballot: Margaret Craven

        1. 2nd: Richard Grandmaison

        2. Passes

      3. Owen Cardwell-Copenhefer new Secretary-Treasurer

    3. Owen resigns as Secretary

    4. Nominations to fill role of Secretary for LDCC

      1. Chris Hodgkins nominated by Margaret Craven

      2. Motion to have the Vice Chair Cast one ballot: Richard Grandmaison

        1. 2nd: John Myrand

        2. Passes

      3. Chris Hodgkins new Secretary for LDCC

    5. New Audit Committee formed: Bill Coffin, Richard Grandmaison, Gerald Frenette

    6. Motion of Confidence on current leadership: Unanimous Approval

    7. Safiya gives an update on the Somali program

  9. New Member Approval: Motion to add Mana Abdi as a new member:

    1. 2nd: Chris Beam

    2. Passes

  10. Motion for Adjournment: John Myrand

    1. 2nd: Chris Beam

    2. Passes

  1. Attendance: Kiernan-Majerus-Collins, Owen Cardwell-Copenhefer, Chris Hodgkins, Safiya Khalid, Margaret Craven, Rita Lajoie, Richard Grandmaison, Diane Grandmaison, John Sinclair, Chris Beam, Bill Coffin, John Myrand, Margaret Rotundo, Gerald Frenette


    Non-Member Attendance: Mana Abdi